Conservation District Website

Go to content

Main menu

About Us

In General:

  The Clarendon Soil and Water Conservation District is a subdivision of state government under the direction of a local five-member Board of Commissioners. State law created conservation districts to provide grass roots for developing and implementing conservation activities. In South Carolina, district boundaries are the same as county boundaries. There is a conservation district in each county.

  Conservation districts are unique; no other agency has the responsibility that districts have. If conservation activities are to take place within a district, the district must initiate them. Other government agencies and groups may assit in these efforts, but the responsibility rests, by law, with the conservation district.

  The Clarendon Conservation District coordinates assistance from all available sources - public and private, local state and federal - in an effort to develop locally driven solutions to natural resource concerns. It is the districts responsiblity to the citizens of Clarendon County to provide first-line leadership in developing and implementing plans that will address the conservation needs within the county.


To promote the wise use and care of natural resources for the
benefit of the citizens of Clarendon County


  • Provide Conservation education to the public through school programs and comunity involvement.

  • Observe, report, and monitor conservation and natural resource concerns in Clarendon County.

  • Promote and implement programs to protect and conserve natural resources in Clarendon County.

Vicky Howell
Kevin Ross
Jason Gamble
David Richburg
Justin Woodard

A district commissioner is an appointed or elected member of the governing body of a conservation district. Commissioners must identify local conservation needs, set goals, develop plans to achieve those goals, and ensure proper implemenation of those plans.

Clarendon county is continually adapting to newly emerging conservation challenges. Urban expansions pose a variety of problems, from threatening plant and animal habitat to compromising water quality. In taking the Oath of Office, a commissioner commits to the responsibility of identifying these changes in the environment and developing a proper plan of action.

Associate Commissioners
Lee Reaves Jr.
Dwight Stewart
Robbie Giddens
Hugh McFaddin
Mackie Beard

Associate commissioners are officially appointed by the board as advisors and representatives. Associates do not vote on board decisions but augment the board's knowledge and experience and assist with conservation district programs. They also offer a way to cultivate potential new commisioners, allow former commissioners to remain active in the ditrict, and broaden community input to the district.

District Manager
Merry Floyd

The district manager serves as the initial contact between the general public and federal, state, and local programs and activities. District managers help to implement the programs and policies decided by the board, coordinate board activities, provide information and data as requested, and serve as an agent fo the district to contact landowners and other agencies regarding district business.

Brandon DuRant, District Conservationist

Hugh Kermit Holladay, District Technician

The Natural Resource conservation Service has a Cooperative Working Agreement with the conservation district, which says that NRCS and the District will work together on program delivery to customers, technical standards, facilities, equipment, data sharing, funding, liability and civil rights. NRCS provides conservation technology to water quality problems, soil erosion and agricultural waste. They also help individuals, groups, organizations, developers and property owners plan, design, and implement conseration programs that will help protect the county't natural resources.

Contact Information:

Clarendon Soil and Water Conservation District
13 West Rigby Street
Manning, SC 29102
Phone: 803-435-2612 ext 3
Fax: 1-855-602-5198

The District Board Meets on the first
Tuesday of each Month

Back to content | Back to main menu